210 240
Röyksopp is an electronic and chill-out music duo based in Bergen, Norway, but the members are originally from Tromsø, Norway. The band consists of Torbjørn Brundtland and Svein Berge. The group formed officially in 1998 and released their debut album Melody A.M. in 2001. The Norwegian word "Røyksopp" means puffball fungus (lit. "(a) smoke mushroom").

Röyksopp have won many prizes for their music, one of them in MTV Europe Music Awards 2002 for the best music video (Remind Me). Remind Me was also used in the popular Geico insurance "Caveman" TV commercials while their first single So Easy became popular in the UK after it was used in an T-Mobile advert. In 2007 O2 used in their commercial song What Else Is There? from the album The Understanding. O2 commercial aired in Czech Republic.

The song Eple was licensed by Apple for use as the welcome music to Mac OS X Panther operating system, playing the first time a user booted a new Mac.

July 12th, 2005 the band released their second album The Understanding, which was preceded by the hit single Only This Moment on June 27th. The album's second single, 49 Percent was released September 26th same year, followed by their third single, What Else Is There?, December 5th, 2005, which is a collaboration with Karin Dreijer from the Swedish electronic band, The Knife. The fourth single, Beautiful Day Without You, was released on June 26, 2006.


Most Rated Tabs